The Blogger Recognition Award

Thanks to Nerdy Book Life for the acknowledgement, she let me know about this a while ago but I haven’t had the chance to do much with my site recently.  As a thanks, I’m going to suggest that anyone reading this give her site a quick browse, especially if you’re a book reader.

Now all the formalities are done with, here’s how the next few paragraphs are going to look:

  1. Give a brief story of how you started your blog.
  2. Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers.
  3. Select bloggers to pass on the acknowledgement to.

1. The Epiphany

I can’t say there was some writing revelation that brought my blog into existence. I used a journal as a house for all my writing, and I still do, but it wasn’t until my first year of college (or high school depending where you’re from) that my Creative Writing teacher showed us how to set up a blog as another platform. 

At first I wasn’t convinced – there were too many buttons, too much technical shit that I didn’t care about, and I didn’t even know what you put on a blog. So I wrote something to get myself out of class, and didn’t touch it for a year. 

Then after one long binge of The Walking Dead one night, I realised I was sort of wasting my life on Netflix and not really putting my only talent to use. So I fired up and dusted off my site and wrote this.

It was just me talking to thin air about college, podcasts, what I’d written for the magazine…boring stuff really. But I hinted towards my first real post that I wanted to write about; philosophy. Bit deep for a novice, I know. It’s here if you’re interested in a 16 year old chatting on about how nothing exists. 

Now over a year and 160 followers later, I’m here being nominated for my third blog award. The rest is history.


2. Advice to new bloggers:

#1. If you don’t have a niche and you just like to write about anything, no doubt you’ve got some pretty interesting stuff to share. Share it all.

#2. A pretty blog is a good blog –  pictures and a suitable theme are important.

#3. There are YouTube tutorials for everything else you’d need.


3. *Accidental boast incoming*

 I was actually nominated for a similar award recently and my choices haven’t dramatically changed since then. So with this information, I’d like to suggest two things:

  1. Check out my nominations from the previous award – The Versatile Blogger Award – here.
  2. Nominate your favourite followed blogger and spread the love, guys.

Matt.X

Featured Image

4 thoughts on “The Blogger Recognition Award

  1. No worries, some of my older stuff never saw the light of day! And one of the best decisions I’ve made in my life was to actually do something with my blog, I’ll never look back.

    Like

  2. As do you. I’ve been binge reading people’s blogs rather than seeing them in the reader so don’t be alarmed when I’m liking and commenting on all your blogs hahah. You’re a great writer man. The cool thing about WordPress is that it connects people from all around the world. One of my better decisions was starting this blog and it’s truly amazing!

    Like

  3. I’m enjoying your blog the way it is so far, I’ve said it before in previous nominations but you’ve got a really solid site going on – keep doing what you’re doing.

    Like

  4. Your advice is on point. I fall into the no-niche category I believe. Constantly trying out new themes to fit my blog even thought the one I have currently I must admit is flawed in terms of not showing the whole Featured Image. And YouTube is life haha. Can learn new skills with a few tutorials, it’s pretty awesome.

    Like

Leave a Reply

