My Year in Music – 2016

I’m constantly on the lookout for new music. I’m always listening to the thousands of songs on my phone. They get me through bad times, help me remember the good.

Here are the songs that made my 2016:

  1.  Smallpools – Street Fight.

    The story as to why this song the list is simple but dear to my heart. Before I came to university I took my dog, Archie, for walks. We always used to go to an empty golf course near to mine, and I’d just let him off the lead to run about while I’d wander behind him with my earphones in, throwing him the occasional stick where one could be found. Part of the golf course is quite hilly , and a few months ago when I was walking him, I ran down one of the hills with Archie running beside me with this song on and I just felt really happy that I had him in my life. It’s a really joyous song that takes me back to that empty field  on a sunny morning; but it also reminds me that Archie isn’t just a dog, he’s family, and my best friend.

2. Shoffy feat. Lincoln Jesser – Takes My Body Higher 

This is one of those songs that I could listen to all day, even now. It’s one of those that you get excited at when it first comes on. I first heard whilst revising for my summer exams, and I fell in love with it instantly. This is probably my top song of this year (and the video is a bonus)…

3. Jason Nolan – Penny

One of the more authentic, odd songs in my playlist; Penny reminds me of my first days of my summer job at the pub. I’d have really long difficult days and would walk back at like 12 in the morning. Playing this on the way back, with its ethereal tune and nonsensical lyrics would just send me to another place, somewhere I could just sort of float. During those warm, rainy midnight strolls.

4. Takenobu – Exposition

I found Exposition whilst listening to the likes of Chopin and other songs to help me focus during my long shifts of revision whilst I was back in Yorkshire for a family getaway. I know, studying for exams during a holiday? Worst possible idea. I say that whilst lying in my university accommodation bed…Good idea, past Matthew.

5. Adam Jensen – Drugs

I first heard this in my first days of university and found its childishness very contrasting to the topic of drugs. I then remembered I was in university, the one place where people my age move away from their childhood and peek over the cliffs edge of adulthood…and sometimes with the company of drugs. An apt song, maybe not for me, but my fellow cliff-peekers.

6. Kungs vs Cookin’ on 3 Burners – This Girl

The song of my summer. Of everyone’s summer.

7. Kaskade & Felix Cartel – Fakin It (Hotel Garuda Remix)

August 18th; results day for A-level exams. I found out I was headed for uni. I told my dad and had my hugs with him, but when he left I blasted this and danced like the gleefully immature child I really am.
Maybe it’s okay to be lost in your backyard…are we all just fakin’ it…?’

8. Youngr – Out of My System

After the news had settled in, life went back to being pretty normal. Except everything was about to change in a matter of weeks. I slowly had to get used to knowing that my life was never going to be the same as it had always been. I was with Archie again when I first heard this, on an empty field on a dark, grey afternoon. I wasn’t sad, I wasn’t particularly happy; I was adjusting. And for some reason, this song resonated, reminded me that I have a lot of life to live.

9. Martin Garrix & Bebe Rexha – In the Name of Love

I didn’t like this song to begin with, but I first heard it whilst lying on the floor of Niamh’s bedroom floor in her new uni flat. It was 3 in the morning and everyone was asleep. My mattress was a duvet, my duvet was a towel. I slept wonderfully if I remember correctly.

10. Julian Mae – Faded

This one is my shower song. Catchy, bouncy, and sweeter than bubblegum.  I still can’t get enough of it.

11. Manila Luzon – Hot Couture

As well as making the only Christmas song that I have listened to this year, Manila Luzon, revered drag queen, made this song which I first heard in line for my second drag show in Manchester, I love Manila for her drag, but apparently she’s also good at making catchy as f*ck songs.

Here’s the rest, these don’t have a backstory but they’re still great.

Here’s to another great year of music in 2017 ❤

Featured Image – Django Django Album Cover 

2 thoughts on “My Year in Music – 2016

  1. Added a few of these to my Spotify – I think Jason Nolan was my favorite. Lots of catchy stuff on this list and a great variety. The verse of the Youngr song sounded distractingly like “Halcyon” by Ellie Goulding 😂 “Hot Couture” is indeed catchy af

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

