Westfield: A Collection of Notes #3 – Concerto

I recently went for a week long stay at a isolated Yorkshire country park with my family. Though it was meant for relaxation for me and the rest of my family, not everything that happened that week left me feeling relaxed. For previous notes, click here.

Day 2, May 31st, 22:01 

Contrary to the true purpose of a holiday, I was forced by the decisive hand of education to spend hours in the same room studying for my upcoming exams. Of course, I prepared myself for this, and had brought literally every scrap of the course materials that I owned with me. My plan was to wake up every morning bright and early and wake myself up with the invigorating air of the countryside with a short bike ride so that I could get as much done as possible before noon, therefore allowing myself more time in the afternoon. What happened instead included my stiff, lifeless body dragging itself from the bed at 10 o’clock after ignoring the 8 o’clock alarm after spending endless hours writing during the previous night.Though it was a mini goal of mine to be more of an early bird, I don’t regret staying in bed until such late hours of the morning, the story that developed during the night was a worthy replacement.

During noon of the second day, the rest of the family went off out to a nearby aquarium. Because of all the work I had to do, I was allowed to stay behind (which I’m grateful for, because a day at a fish zoo sounds duller than dishwater) and get on in peace and quiet. After being given the key, and responsibility of the whole lot, I sat down at the table and started.

Now, any work that I do is usually accompanied by the music downloaded on my phone, but after learning that listening to Classical music can improve focus, I thought I’d do a little experiment. I have hundreds of songs and artists on my phone; from Gallant to Galantis, from Filous to Fleetwood Mac – but no Classical music. However, this was no issue for me because as a fan of the TV series, Dexter, I am aware of the work of Chopin, a Polish composer from the 1800’s. So after a few quick YouTube searches, I was met with an hour long ‘mix’ of his greatest work, and I started.

Now, I’m aware that the mind can be tricked into something that isn’t true, but I found myself to be astounded by what I was listening to and how it affected my work. The soft notes of the piano were so subtly poignant and evocative that I became somewhat immersed in the music and my work.

So immersed, in fact, that once I broke free of this musical hypnosis and observed my surroundings; my lone, isolated state of being in this distant country park, it created a whole different atmosphere, one of a beautiful evil that lurked round the corner. Unlike in typical horror movies, where everything goes quiet and tense once the climatic jump
scare is about to happen, I felt like some silent pursuer was standing in the corner of the room out of my sight, and enjoying the symphonies. Savouring the moment. If you have watched anything like The Strangers, you’ll understand.

There’s one scene, where one of the main characters plays soft music from a record player, and everything is seemingly mundane. And then in the corner of the shot, a masked figure appears….then silently walks away, all unbeknownst to her. That’s the sort of atmosphere I felt: subtle, patient, watched.

But by whom? Do the walls have eyes?

Leave a Reply

