The Liebster Award

My thanks go to A Writer’s Cauldron for introducing me to, and nominating me for what I would call a gift from the Blogging community. I had never even heard of such an award before today, and I’m still grateful to be a part of this wonderful idea.

The Liebster Award is not a real award. It’s just the Blogger community’s  way of telling you that they like your Blog and it’s more of a thumbs-up than anything else. It’s a way for older, experienced Bloggers to encourage and motivate new ones. The word ‘Liebster’ literally means sweetest/ lovely/ endearing/ welcome in German. So basically, if someone nominates you and you accept the award (completely your choice to accept or not), you have to answer the questions said Blogger asks you and then nominate a few others and ask them some questions too.

As I’ve stated to the Writer’s Cauldron (i.e. Diksha), I am humbled to be recognised in such a positive way, and will kindly accept her nomination, and in return, answer her questions:

1. What is your favourite childhood memory?

From the ages of about 10-12, I had a friend whom we’ll call Nathan. From what I remember, our friendship started off somewhat rocky, but after realising our mutual interest in video games, we quickly descended into one of the best friendships I’ve had with a person. We really didn’t do much in terms of variety of the activities we did, we never explored a forest or went for long bike rides together, our bond was in video games; and did we play…

With similar energies that matched that of two wild animals, we could be on my old PS3 console for ungodly amounts of hours.  At a rough estimate, the amount that we collectively spent staring at my living room television must be in the high hundreds – thousands seem excessive, but I am also recalling something from 7 years ago so I may wrong. Through this brotherly experience, we introduced each other to realm of video games, specifically Call of Duty. When we weren’t cooped up with a controller glued to our hands, we spent our time on the trampoline that stood in my back garden. Narrowly escaping broken necks every time we climbed onto it, we jumped, bounced, flipped and flopped on that thing together in the glorious summer sun.

I can’t remember specifics about the time that we spent together, I fondly recall the many days we had as one awesome summer, one I’ll never forget. We don’t speak any more, time tore us apart. But I’ll always be grateful for the companionship that he showed me back then, and I’d like to think that if we were to get back in touch, it would be like old times.

2. Which is the one place in the world that you’d like to visit (or revisit)?

This comes at an unfortunate time, what with the plague of extremism running rife in our lives, but if I could go somewhere right now, it would be Belgium; specifically Brussels. Every time I’ve told people that I want to go to Belgium, they immediately suspect that my intentions are illicit but honestly, I just love how it looks. I know nothing of Belgian culture or history, but just by looking at photos of the Palais de Justice or the Brussels Town Hall, I want to visit and learn everything about them. It seems to have a timeless air about it, one I want to walk about in, one I want to smell. It seeps true beauty and it’s an absolute shame that this has been tainted by such death and destruction. I hope that in a few years, it is able to stand strong again so that myself and others are able to experience what it has to offer.

3. What is your favourite part of blogging?

I’m going to assume that many others who have been asked this question share my view on this, that blogging is what I can only describe as an ‘creative gateway to the imaginative mind’. Personally, I have lots of ideas and thoughts that go through my head; whether they’re philosophical, personal, morbid, or scary, I always have something that I want to share. And without boring my friends on my theory on the Balance of Happiness, or scare away new acquaintances with why a zombie apocalypse wouldn’t be so bad, where else does one go to convey such weird and wonderful ideas?

I used to think that blogging was pointless, but that was because I was so oblivious to the potential that could be unlocked from it, I never really understood how one writes on a blog – the beautiful thing is that you can write however you want, because someone somewhere is going to read and appreciate it. I’ve had people all around the world read my pieces, from the US to Indonesia, and that sort of connection to others globally is mind blowing.

I don’t have one favourite thing about blogging, for me it’s all encompassing. At first it was a chore, a sort of self-made obligation. Now I’ve created my own world, my own office,and the rules are on the door – Keep the light off, and when you’re leaving shut the god damn door behind you. 

4. Introvert, Extrovert, or Ambivert?

All depends on the day, sometimes I dread any human interaction, other times I thrive off of it, plus I get really bad cabin fever – I guess that qualifies as ambivert?

5. What is the first book you remember reading? (No textbooks)

Like I read textbooks(!)

The first book(s) I remember reading in my childhood is the Captain Underpants series, hilarious, inventive and timeless – there’s nothing better than an army of toilets invading a school to keep you entertained during long car trips.

6. Biggest risk you’ve ever taken in your life?

Becoming a radio presenter was risky business for me. It’s not that I wasn’t confident in myself, but after accumulating so much attention to our first live shows, the pressure could’ve easily cracked me and I would’ve been massively humiliated, plus my confidence for the profession would’ve been ruined – luckily all’s well thus far, and I’m loving it.

7. One person you find inspiring and why?

Hands down, my Dad. He’s the most hard working, selfless guy I know and I’m super grateful for everything he does for me and my family. If I can be half the father he is when I’m older, I know I’d be doing something right. Love you, Dad.x

8. Do you have any phobias?

Great White Sharks (or anything that’s large and ocean dwelling). Though it’s perfectly logical to be scared of such evil looking creatures, the only reason I know it’s an irrational phobia is that I can’t get in baths for fear of them (thank god for showers, eh). The same goes for, and please suppress your laughter, blue whales. They’re simply too big, and thought of them puts me on edge.

9. Ebooks or Paperbacks?

Paperbacks all the way – I’m all for technological advancement, but leave books alone.

10. One thing you love about yourself?

I could eat a house and still maintain the chiselled figure that I have been blessed with :))))(I also really like what I’ve done with my blog)


 

The blogs I nominate for the Liebster Award are:

These are the rules :

* Display an image of the award on your blog (Google it, or make your own)
* Thank the person who nominated you, and post a link to their blog.
* Answer the 11 questions that are provided by the person who nominated you.
* Nominate between 5 and 11 other bloggers to receive the award.
* Create 10 or more questions for these nominees to answer.
* Inform those people who are now nominated for the Liebster Award, and provide a link to your post so they can learn more about it.
* List these rules on your blog post, so your nominees can find them.

Here are my questions for you:

  1. How do ideas for your blog posts come about?
  2. What’s your proudest piece so far?
  3. What are the best & worst things about blogging?
  4. If you could eat one food for the rest of your life, what would it be and why?
  5. Favourite movie(s)?
  6. What is the best compliment you’ve ever received?
  7. If you could have personally witnessed anything in history, what would it be and why?
  8. If you could be anyone else in the world for one whole day, who would you be and why?
  9. Ever experienced the paranormal? If not, do you still believe in it?
  10. Any fictional universes you’d want to live in?

Have fun and spread the word!

Matt. x

 

5 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

Leave a Reply

